c33c21_939153160e3f4091bd7faed1663017f9Last week I introduced a new class at CMS Northeast in Buffalo, NY. The class is called “The Space Between”. I’ll tell you honestly that I was a bit anxious heading into the class. Though I believe strongly in the concept behind the class, I wasn’t sure if it would resonate with the people who attended. Turns out my anxiety was unfounded, and the class was a great success. I’m excited to share the results of the class with you here.

In essence, “The Space Between” relates to something I’ve experienced as a worship leader. As worship music has become more and more accessible in our culture, I’ve felt a certain pressure to “cover” the song, presenting it with the roadmap heard on the recording: verse, chorus, verse, chorus, bridge, chorus, etc. Yet, sometimes there’s something in me that wants to focus on a particular line from the lyric. Perhaps I know someone in my church is going through a challenging season, having relationship struggles, financial stress or many other issues. That lyric feels like a timely word for them.

In those moments, I want to create some space between the familiar sections of the song to let God’s Spirit have some time to bring revelation and relief to His people. Please know that I’m not implying that the song can’t do that as written. I’m simply saying that in my experience sometimes building in a moment like this can shine new light on a song’s message.

Download the attached PDF to see the 5 options we came up with for a “space between” moment when presenting the great song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)”. On the PDF you’ll also be able to read some fairly detailed comments about the theory behind the options that are presented.

As you play through the ideas on your instrument, perhaps even getting your worship team involved, be open to the “song within the song” you might start to experience. My friend Paul Wilbur used this phrase once to describe that sense he often has when leading worship that a certain part of a song is particularly urgent in a gathering. That’s exactly what my class in Buffalo and I experienced last week and I hope you’ll enjoy exploring the possibilities I’ve shared here.

Leave a Reply

